Club Notes 27/03/2023


Limerick County 4 Mile

The flagship Limerick County road race was hosted by West Limerick Athletics Club in Dromcollogher on Sunday. This race is an inter club race for athletes from across the county. 

It was a superb day for racing and we would like to thank all of our volunteers for making the day happen. 

Following the lead of the Munster 4 mile , this event had combined both ladies and mens races , starting at 12pm and heading off on the 4 mile circuit. The route was known to many at this stage but it does not make it any easier when you are trying to run it as quickly as possible.

First across the line with some distance to spare was the excellent Declan Moore of Bilboa A.C. The next group of athletes finished closely together, led by a fast finishing Killian Lynch , were Karl Lenihan, Declan Guina, Aogan MacDhomhnaill, Mike Sheehy and Derek Kiely. From here there was a constant stream of athletes who were cheered on by the supporters at the finish line.

First woman home was Sophie Moroney of Emerald AC. Eadaoin Hennessy and Tracey Johnson of Dooneen AC finished very close in 2nd and 3rd place.

This event incorporates three events in one race. On the day athletes compete in the Novice, Senior and Masters (35 and over) Categories. Here are the overall results. Well done to all of our club members who ran on the day. There is a large gallery of photos on the club Facebook page.


Ladies: 1st Kate Murray , 2nd Sheila Clavin, 3rd Susan Lowe 

Team winners West Limerick A.C. : Kate Murray, Sheila Clavin, Susan Lowe, Oorla Cusack, Suzanne Kennedy, Norma Harnedy

Mens: 1st Killian Lynch 2nd Cian Aherne (Dooneen AC) 3rd David Secchi (Dooneen AC)

Team Winners Dooneen AC

2nd team West Limerick AC – Killian Lynch, Padraig O Donnell, John Morrissey, Con Mulcahy, Shane Quille, Alan Kehoe

3rd team Kilmallock AC


Ladies 1st Sophie Moroney (Emerald AC), 2nd Eadaoin Hennessy (Dooneen AC) 3rd Tracey Johnson (Dooneen AC)

Team Winners – Dooneen AC

2nd Team – West Limerick AC : Kate Murray, Sheila Clavin, Susan Lowe, Oorla Cusack, Suzanne Kennedy, Norma Harnedy

Mens 1st Declan Moore (Bilboa AC) 2nd Killian Lynch 3rd Karl Lenihan

Team Winners – West Limerick AC: Killian Lynch, Karl Lenihan, Declan Guina, Aogan MacDomhnaill, Mike Sheehy, Aaron Lynch.

2nd Team – Dooneen AC


Over 35:

1st: Kate Murray 2nd: Susan Lowe 3rd: Marissa Culhane

1st: Cian Aherne 2nd: Joe Laffan 3rd: Barry O Brien

Over 40:

1st: Tracey Johnson 2nd: Karen Raine 3rd: Sheila Clavin

1st: Aogan MacDomhnaill 2nd: Gary Egan 3rd: Derek Kiely

Over 45:

1st: Suzanne Kennedy 2nd: Norma Harnedy 3rd: Tara Carr

1st: Karl Lenihan 2nd: Mike Sheehy 3rd: PJ Carey

Over 50:

1st: Oorla Cusack 2nd: Marie Keane 3rd: Mo Foley

1st: Con Mulcahy

Over 55:

1st: Eileen Reeves 2nd: Verena Tarpey 3rd: Leila Long

1st: Joe Chawke 2nd: John Morrissey 3rd: John Sheir

Over 60:

1st: Claire Knight 2nd: MaryIta O COnnor

Over 65:

1st: Carmel MacDomhnaill 2nd: Mary Healy

1st: Tony McMahon 2nd: Malacky McCarthy

Over 70

1st Richard Lenihan 2nd Mick Carroll 3rd Partick Roche

Over 35 Club Teams:


Winners – West Limerick AC – Kate Murray , Sheila Clavin, Susan Lowe, Suzanne Kennedy


Winners – West Limerick AC – Karl Lenihan, Aogan MacDomhnaill, Mike Sheehy, Shane Quille

2nd – Dooneen AC

Over 50 Club Teams:


Winners – Dooneen AC

2nd Team – West Limerick AC – Oorla Cusack , Carmel MacDomhnaill, Leila Long


Winners – West Limerick AC – John Morrissey, Con Mulcahy, Richard Lenihan

Mallow 10 Mile

This hugely popular race was held on Sunday.

The overall winner was Ryan Creech of Leevale AC in a time of 49:35. Niall Shanahan (An Bru AC) was second in 50:37.

Niamh Moore was first woman in 59:37.

Well done to our club members who ran on the day. They were Karol Downey 1:08:28, Liam Buckley 1:17:30, Christina  Hartnett 1:23:43 and Gerard Hannon 1:29:56


Want to Join The Club?

Adult Membership is currently open. If you have been a member of a different Athletics Club in the past 3 years a Transfer Form is required. Please contact us and we will assist with the transfer.